This is me, JvB

Well, I’m new at this, blogging I mean. I’m an expert at what I’m writing about.

My name is Jonathan von Breton (JvB). I’m 58 and live with my dog (Canaan Dog) Russo. I’m sure I’ll mention her from time to time.I’d love to have more dogs, I was once up to 3. But, I don’t have the income.

Some interesting personal tidbits. I was born with deformed hands (not Thalidomide). So doing a lot of daily activities is a challenge. I use the good old hunt and peck method of typing.

I spend at least 30 minutes everyday practicing Ip Family Tai Chi (a.k.a. Yang Snake Style).

I work as a Licensed Mental Health Counselor and as a Licensed Chemical Dependency Professional. One of my proudest professional achievements is that I’m a Certified Supervisor in REBT (Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy).

I’m quite involved with SMART Recovery , an addiction self-help program based in part on REBT. I work as the Director of SMART Recovery On-Line, a part-time contractor position. As you can see, REBT permeates my life.

Unfortunately, because of the overall economy, I’m not making enough money to live. Foreclosure and bankruptcy are distinct possibilities if not certainties.

My main goal in this blog to introduce as many people as possible to REBT. I think of REBT as a powerful and comprehensive form of psychotherapy. But it’s more than that to me. I think of  it as my philosophy. I plan to share how I do this in many areas of my life. That is one of the reasons I mention my disability. REBT is remarkably useful there.Preventing emotional disturbance about financial problems is another area where I use REBT.

This blog will cover REBT theory and practice. In the spirit of narcissism, I will use examples from own life frequently. I plan to shamelessly promote my mental health practice as well.

That’s enough for now.

Jonathan

14 Comments on “This is me, JvB”

  1. Melanie Jette says:

    Jonathan, what a nice introduction to your blog. I especially look forward to hearing about the use of REBT in response to financial woes. I think this is something that can benefit all of us.
    As usual, I love your sense of humor and I look forward to future postings!

  2. saimasalman says:

    Hey Jonathon! SO good to read your thoughts — i’m so glad to be connected to you! REBT has been and will always be one of my biggest PASSIONS! I can’t seem to thank AL enough for his brilliant philosophy! Look forward to reading your blog! Wishing you all the BEST!

  3. David Powers says:

    Best wishes, Jonathan. I think your blog will be very successful in spreading the word about REBT and urging people to rational behavior. Thanks for sharing and giving your readers personal perspective, the better to understand your thoughtss

  4. Colin Powell (not that one) says:

    Hey Jonathan, good to see you got it off the ground! I first “met” you in the training videos for SRUK; all makes a lot of sense to me. Look forward to reading your posts and hopefully taking the message back to other people, as well as using it myself.
    Sorry to hear about the finances, but good to see you’re using the principle (should that be capitalised? The Principles….). I use the techniques daily – works for me…..

    Stay lucky
    Colin

  5. Iqbal Samad Khan says:

    Hi Jonathan
    I admire your guts and resilience. Keep it up buddy and keep smiling. The Lord be with you.

  6. Stormjib says:

    I just subscribed to your rss feed! Looking forward to reading, thanks and good luck!

  7. fen says:

    JvB, nice start and it’s bookmarked. Enjoy the day!

  8. Al would no doubt be smiling and glad that you have embarked on the blogging adventure!
    I enjoyed reading it very much, and am sure it, and your future blogs, can help many many people who want to learn about, and/or reinforce their current knowledge of the unique and marvelous contribution REBT can be to those who apply it.
    All best wishes Jonathan – Debbie Joffe Ellis.

  9. […] Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy, REBT, the cornerstone of a fine blog I recommend to my readers, jvbgetsrational, a periodic exploration of the ins and outs of […]

  10. Hi Jonathan –

    Glad to see you’re up and running. Looking forward to reading and learning.

    Bandita

  11. Leanne says:

    So glad you’re sharing your knowledge. You rule! And thank you!

  12. Just me again…adding my FB account so you can see my pretty dog instead of that weird looking square thingy.

  13. I’m happy to see you up and running as well. You’ve got a place on my bookmarks bar.


Leave a Reply

